You don’t realize how many muscles it takes...

Discussion in 'Horse Chat' started by NaeNae, Jan 13, 2019 at 10:10 AM.

1. NaeNae

NaeNae Senior Member

To clean stalls when you haven’t done it full time for four years.

PHEW man.

I used to work full time in the horse industry doing barns and stuff. Just over 10 years I did it for, and the last 4 years I’ve been full time at a “normal people job” and have had my horse on lease for the last 8 months so NO cleaning stalls since late spring.

I just picked up a weekend barn job for exercise and horse time and gas money, feeding lunch and mucking stalls and paddocks at a boarding/breeding facility. 6 stalls and 3 stall/paddock combos. Started last Sunday and MAN!

Am I ever SORE! I totally forgot how good of shape I was in mucking 10-30 stalls full time 6 days a week for years. No wonder I used to have manly shoulders and arms!

:rofl:

I feel so pathetic. My upper body is ACHING! Plus she beds DEEP and I’ve always been a shallow bedder. And I SUCK at banking shavings in deep bed stalls to clean. It’s been so aggravating.

Basically just a I’m pathetic whine post, also why can’t barn jobs pay better because I miss doing this full time!!!

heartland, Binca, ginster and 2 others like this.
  2. slc

slc Senior Member

LOL. It is definitely hard work and no other job uses the muscles in exactly the same way. Of course when you get to be my age you kind of feel like you 'overdid' all the time, even if you do it every day.

Tylenol and stretching helps!

NaeNae likes this.
  3. NaeNae

NaeNae Senior Member

Thank god I do hot yoga 5-6 days a week, that definitely helps!

manesntails likes this.
  4. slc

slc Senior Member

You know I wanted so badly to do that, I tried it and I had to run out of the room after 4 minutes. I have asthma and the heat in the room really bothered me.

5. bobo and horses

bobo and horses Senior Member