Working student opportunities? Advice? (dressage)

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by ottb742, Dec 30, 2017.

1. ottb742

ottb742 Registered

I am a recent college graduate (equine degree) looking to further my dressage education. I have been a full-time working student for 3 years now, currently riding at 3rd level, and looking to move on from my current trainer and take my riding to the next step. Becoming an assistant trainer/trainer is the long term goal, but for now I really need to get started on showing and obtaining scores towards my medals. I do not have a horse of my own so the position I go for must have horses I can ride, and hopefully show.

I am very fortunate that I am at a point in life where I can really go anywhere, the sky's the limit! I am a very hard-working, responsible, dedicated individual who truly wants to make dressage my life's work. I'm looking for advice, and/or recommendations if you have them. Thank you in advance!

Alsosusieq2 likes this.
  2. slc

slc Senior Member

The reality is that most of these positions don't provide a lot of opportunities to compete, whether you have your own horse or not. You're a working student, basically, you're there to learn, and there's a lot of work. And in general, the pay isn't very much(some pay nothing...). If it's a bigger more well-heeled operation you might have a dormitory type room or a trailer to live in, and you might get meals at some places.

At the biggest stables, these positions are very competitive. You would be one of a dozen or more young folks, and there would be several head and assistant head riders. You pretty much wrestle with the other riders for opportunities, instruction, and opportunities to compete. It's not easy to get those opportunities, and it's not for the thin-skinned person, you have to be very tough and optimistic.