Who gives their horses the winter off?

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by Mayelix, Jan 9, 2017.

1. Mayelix

Mayelix Senior Member

Contemplating giving my horse the winter off for a variety of reasons...not enough time, not enough daylight, not enough days when the ring isn't frozen

I've never done this before. When do you start work again? What kind of timeline do you set to getting him/her back in shape? I'd like to be able to show when it gets warmer but am worried about not getting him to that point physically in time.

Just curious what people do and how they make it work.

Or do you think it'd be better to just ride when I'm able to throughout the winter?

2. Alsosusieq2

Alsosusieq2 Senior Member

I don't think it's great to just let them completely off, but I don't think it's a train wreck either. If they're fully schooled why not you know? I don't think you're going to lose much ground that can't be made up easily if the weather is horrible in my opinion.

3. slc

slc Senior Member

If the training is not progressive and the horse has reached his limit and is in a 'maintenance mode' and winter's not too long, it would be far less of a problem, but for dressage, I wouldn't. Never did. Too much time, training and fitness lost doing that. And progress in training is 99% about fitness.

It would take at least as much time to get the fitness and training of the horse back to what it was. One would not make any progress.

Say, 'winter' is from December to May. 5 months. Half the year.

It would take 6 months to get back what was lost, and there's one month for training 'new' stuff. And then it would be time for winter again.

But once one got past first level, even attempting to do this would start to fall apart, because the horse would lose so much condition that he wouldn't be getting back what was lost, within the time given.