1. JOIN the world's largest horse forum! Chat and learn from other experts about horse training, breeding, health, showing, riding, contests and use our free horse classifieds. Register Here

What is the best way to clean a Western saddle?

Discussion in 'Tack & Equipment' started by Nikki., May 3, 2004.

1. Nikki.

Nikki. Registered

I am new to cleaning saddles.I am just wondering which is the best way to clean them properly?Any information will be appreciated! pony

2. Blistering Winds

Blistering Winds Senior Member+

You are talking leather right?

I have some LEATHER NEW that I use. Basically you spray it ALL over the saddle on the leather, take a dry washcloth ( I like them better) and scrub scrub scrub, then wipe excess off. On REALLY dirty saddles, add more soap/conditioner and repeat.

Leather New is both a soap and conditioner. Don't have to add anything else.

Works on both light and dark saddles.

3. hay burner

hay burner Senior Member

all i really use is saddle soap hmm whats the name????? ill get it and i rub it in itreally makes it flexible hope this helps :) works for me

4. Nikki.

Nikki. Registered

Thanks!!! That was very helpful. I was told to dip the saddle in water and use soap and water. then make sure the saddle dries right away.

5. kaitlyn

kaitlyn Senior Member

its safer to use saddle soap....only use water if its synthetic...someone i knew used the water technique and ruined her saddle

6. CJ

CJ Senior Member

Neatsfoot is a good penetrating oil, Lexol is a decent general conditioner. If your saddle squeaks, it needs to be oiled, then cap it w/ saddle soap. If there's an evasive squeak in the depths of the tree, try a light dusting of baby powder between the leather flaps & tree. And Murphy's oil soap is a SOAP more than an oil, a common mistake/ misconception. (It cleans, it doesn't oil per se.)

7. tn walker

tn walker Senior Member+