1. JOIN the world's largest horse forum! Chat and learn from other experts about horse training, breeding, health, showing, riding, contests and use our free horse classifieds. Register Here

TWH from Bastrop

Discussion in 'Horse Rescue / Adoption' started by Happy Jumper, Nov 4, 2016.

1. Happy Jumper

Happy Jumper Full Member

Hi y'all! I'm new - please bear with me when I sound completely ignorant. I'm not - at least, not completely - lol! But my background is in TBs/jumpers, and I know zero about gaited horses.
    So, this new horse in my life was rescued from Bastrop Kill Pen a year ago, and has done nothing but be a yard pet and fatten up ever since. He is a sweetheart, and I love him already. I have some questions about his gaits. I realize that he's been out of work, he's out of shape, and I know nothing about his prior training. When I ride him, he has a nice, lilting gait that I presume is a running walk - pretty smooth till he gets going faster, and then it feels discombobulated. When I watch him in the pasture, he has a lovely, forward trot, then something I think might be a pace of sorts, and then an awkward, bunny hop sort of canter. I have no idea if his awkwardness is an indication of lack of training, being out of shape, or possibly a soundness issue. If I post a couple, of videos, will you guys let me know what you think?

Attached Files:

2. Sarai

Sarai Senior Member

Nice horse!
    Lets see dem vids! :)

Happy Jumper likes this.
  3. Idrivetrotter

Idrivetrotter Senior Member