The aquarium thread :)

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Pony123, Apr 19, 2017.

1. Pony123

Pony123 Full Member

I don't know if anyone has fish of any type but I just got into the hobby and I am loving it!! I have a ten gallon tropical tank with three mickey mouse platies, two khuli loaches, 4 black neon tetras and a male half-moon betta. The biggest event coming up in my life now is I'm getting a 55 gallon tank with filters and a stand in May and I can't wait to plant and stock it. So, anyone else have fish?

QHriderKE, apndi and TheSnowLeopard like this.
  2. Pony123

Pony123 Full Member

Oh and photos...

Attached Files:

Varisha and TheSnowLeopard like this.
  3. QHriderKE

QHriderKE Senior Member

I have a little veil-tail betta that I've named Lucifer aka Satan because he's so angry (in typical betta style)
    I've been keeping him in a bowl for 8 months and don't really plan to change that because if he was gonna die he would have done that by now.

He's a jerk, mostly.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Varisha likes this.
  4. CJ

CJ Senior Member

Do pool comets in the yard pond/ horse trough count?
    They do a bangup job keeping the mosquitos down.
    We have to replace them sometimes, because theres a heron in the area thats very good a whole-scale overnight pond evictions. (n) :unsure:
    Netting helps, prevents heron wading, but sometimes theres frogs, adn they lie or have to jump in & out. And the Yikes frogs ('named' for sound, not sure of species) leap impressively high as they shriek and spook waterward.
    The comets are fun to have &watch in the pond or tank. The best defense to keeping them stocked is to have some black comets in the water, as they are hard for the heron to see, so evade it better.

Pony123 likes this.
  5. apndi

apndi Senior Member