Strengthening the Left Lead on a Right Handed Horse

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by spec, Nov 9, 2018 at 3:33 PM.

1. spec

spec Full Member

Hi everyone! I recently started riding again after a brain injury and my horse is out of shape. She is naturally a “right handed” horse. She doesn’t necessarily prefer one lead over the other (in the pasture she uses them both pretty equally, and will willingly pick up either lead with no fuss), however her right lead is a little prettier to watch and to ride than the left. I think the difference boils down to that she lifts her shoulders for me more nicely on the right and tends to be a little more on the forehand on the left. The difference is subtle but I notice. I’ve had an equine vet look at her (5 months ago prior to my injury) and say “there’s nothing that I can see wrong with that horse”. She has clean hock and hoof X-rays as of last spring and shows no signs of pain in any way. He mentioned it’s common for horses, like people, to have a dominant side. When she is in shape her right & left are almost indiscernible, so rest assured the horse is sound. Chiro has helped slightly in the past but not enough for me to think its not more of a riding problem on my part (I am right handed and stronger on my right, I wonder if I am not just making her this way due to my own shortcomings).
    Lately I have been doing counter cantering a lot since I know it’s a great strengthening exercise. She is a naturally slow, lazy pleasure horse so I have also been doing lots of extended canter work. I’m looking for more exercises to get her off the forehand. I already have some “go-to” drills that worked ok for me in the past, but all suggestions are welcome. I would love to hear insight from some dressage peeps in particular. Thanks in advance :)

2. slc

slc Senior Member