Showing novice advice

Discussion in 'Equestrian Events, Shows, Competitions' started by Medicine Hat Blue, Dec 11, 2018.

1. Medicine Hat Blue

Medicine Hat Blue Registered

Hello all, I am new to the forum and would appreciate some advice.

Im really interested in showing but have absolutely no clue where to start. I'm a complete novice when it comes to showing or competing but have plenty of experience and own horses otherwise. I cant seem to find any information on open classes near me or clear expectations and what to train for. Im mostly looking to dip my toes and gain some experience, hopefully in extreme trail classes or ranch pleasure. I own grade horses so open breed shows have been a hassle to find with decent info.

An advice on where to find such events, expectations on horse and rider ability, what environment to expect, how best to prep. Mostly I need help and guidance with getting started to begin with. Any and all advice about anything showing would be greatly appreciated.

Alsosusieq2 likes this.
  2. Lopinslow

Lopinslow Senior Member

I would look for a local Horse Facebook page, they should be able to point you in the right direction to find shows.

Alsosusieq2 likes this.
  3. Medicine Hat Blue

Thank you for replying ! :) the only issue Ive had with those is they all seem to be outdated but I'll try updating my criteria search.

Alsosusieq2 likes this.
  4. FaeriesFaith

FaeriesFaith Senior Member

Extreme trail, are you talking extreme cowboy racing? If so, look for EXCA clubs in your area by joining the EXCA facebook pages. or going to the extreme cowboy racing associations website. A lot of the clubs host clinics and playdays and even some schooling shows to help new people learn the sport. After that its jump in! I raced exca for 2 years but did not compete this year, my competition horse was deemed unsound for performance work so I retired her and am waiting to see if my young horses have an aptitude for it.

5. Alsosusieq2