Shock Collar For Horses

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by avasmom, May 9, 2007.

1. avasmom

avasmom Senior Member

Erm...just saw in a magazine...the "ViceBreaker" for horses. Endorsed by our very own Clinton Anderson.

It's a shock collar very similar to one you use on a dog. Use it to stop common vices.

Opinions? I don't think I like it. Maybe if it was only available to experienced horse people who had seriously dangerous horses-not the kinda of dumb people who think they put one on to teach them to Piaffe or something.
    Horse, Equine, ViceBreaker | Product Information | H1, H1-2, H1-3, Charger, etc. | Vice Breaker

2. Andaletta

Andaletta Senior Member+

when i studied horse behaviour in my breedin course we focased alot on "vices" or Stereotypic Behaviour

there was a study conducted of 20 horses.. 10 horses with vices 10 without all facing each other, the horses who didnt have vices never caught on the behaviour (as some people say they learn it from other horses) after a prolonged study they euthanised all the horses and opened up their stomachs and found the 10 that didnt have vices had terrible ulcers and the 10 that did have vices didnt have any ulcers..

in my own view their is no cure for a vice, there are ways to reduce the behaviour but only if you look at the factors for instance the horse is box walking.. its stable is too small, the horse wood chews, needs more forage etc.. i dont think equipment helps i think they can depress your horse with the unneccessary (sp?) discomfort given by a vice equipment but of course some of you will disagree with what i have said..

3. Blistering Winds

Blistering Winds Senior Member+

Depends on the vice.

I think if you want to stop something without them associating YOU with it, a shock collar (for severe issues) is excellent

however, it should not be for ANYTHING and in my opinion, a last ditch effort before giving in

4. harli36

harli36 Senior Member+