Saddleseat neck position

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by baymax2018, Jan 30, 2019.

1. baymax2018

baymax2018 Full Member

I have a general question, as I'm new to saddleseat and am trying to understand all of the training concepts. I found a really useful out by someone talking about how to raise a horse up in front with a modified sort of half-halt (I come from sporthorse-land) which made a lot of sense to me, but I had a question about the martingale. My trainer has me riding in one on the snaffle rein.

The action of this causes his head to come down, almost to the level of where a side rein might be, which is a bit counterintuitive to me as this horse is coming from sporthorse land as well so his head is being carried lower because of his muscling. I'm assuming that if I wanted to raise him up, I'd have to either put a second rein on the snaffle and use the one going through the martingale like a curb rein (so, little to no contact), or lose the rein going through the martingale altogether (which doesn't sound horrible, although he's still young and I'd like to keep my nose if he decides to throw his head or pop up in front).

Am I thinking correctly? I think my trainer is underestimating him a bit, just because of what he came in looking like, but I actually think with some time he might make a saddleseat CP horse. My dressage background would have me do a lot of transitions with him to get him off of his front end. Am I on the right track here in understanding? I've got a few books, but they all start with a young horse in a bitting rig, and I don't have a dumb jockey which sounds like what I would really need if I wanted to do it right.

2. RG NIGHT HEIR

RG NIGHT HEIR Senior Member

Yes,we rode with two reins on the snaffle.
    We used curbreins and regular reins
    Curbreins on the bottom ,regular reins on top.
    Most saddleseat horse are conformationally very upheaded , SS has nothing in common with dressage or any other riding style.