Sacroiliac Injury

Discussion in 'Horse Health' started by Twistedbeauty, May 7, 2018.

1. Twistedbeauty

Twistedbeauty Full Member

Being newer to horse ownership and all, I really failed to look into this earlier but these look like a sacroiliac injury of some sort. I'm disappointed that the seller (a reputable nice lady) knew I was a young beginner and failed to notify me about something like this, but I've surely learned from experience and mistakes in the past. Should I have a vet see my horse? I just wanted some other opinions. She doesn't seem to be in pain and happily bucks, canters, jumps, whatever horses usually do in the pastures. She's from the Amish so I don't have a background on her. I only trail ride so it's mainly walk and little trot. She has no problem getting around, shows no reaction to pressure in that area, but she does place her left hind hoof slightly inward.
    Buying an Ex-Racehorse: Can You Spot the Major Physical Issues? - The Horse's Back Referencing off of this article, it really seems like she did have an injury with all of the symptoms and photos. Does anyone else have experience with this, are there ways to correct it or perhaps relieve it if there's pain?
    IMG_6869.JPG IMG_7110.JPG IMG_7112.JPG

Attached Files:

2. hamerface

hamerface Senior Member

So a few things stick out.

Your horse looks uncomfortable. She has the uneveness in her SI area, and she has something going on in her loin (lumbar vertebral ) She also stands uncomfortably. Feet under her by quite a bit.

Have you had your saddle checked by a saddle fitter? I see some areas of concern, and believe the lumbar issues could definitely be related if not worsened by your saddle. Is an equine body worker or chiropractor an option for you as well? There is a lot you can do to help make her more comfortable.

Rhythm 'n Blues and gaitedboomer like this.
  3. ginster

ginster Senior Member