"Round pen him until he can't run anymore"

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by bellalou, Dec 13, 2016.

1. bellalou

bellalou Senior Member

Heard that at the barn a couple of days ago when a very fresh young horse dumped his rider and ran back to his stall. :rolleyez:

Luckily the rider has more sense than to listen to the person who offered THAT helpful piece of advice but it really does make me cringe sometimes when I hear the stuff some people come out with.

Another one came from a woman who has not been out to do anything with her horse for almost a year. "We've been remodeling our house," she explained. "And I took a class so that's had me busy."

I wanted to say, "Yes, I understand - I just finished law school and I'm studying for the bar now" but didn't bother. Why have a horse? I don't get it.

What's the most jaw-dropping bit of "helpful advice" you've heard lately?

2. Breezah

Breezah Senior Member

Eh. I think there is a time and a place for that sort of discipline. Of course, I don't think it's appropriate for the situation and horse you've described, but wet saddle pad lessons are definitely not ruled out for all horses.

Personally, I haven't had a lot of non-solicited bad advice recently. Although I made the mistake of telling my very straight-arrow friend about how my boyfriend and I had... smoked some celebratory green.... with my parents at my dad's 50th birthday party last weekend (it was his 50th birthday, and he offered!).... And she acted very concerned and told me I needed to consider getting help for my addiction............. :rolleyes::rolleyez:

3. DunsNPallys

DunsNPallys Senior Member