Respecting Your Personal Space

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by JVGoss, Jan 25, 2019.

?

How can I get my girl to stay out of my space when I lead her?

1. training tips

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Training advice

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. JVGoss

JVGoss Registered

I am new to Horse Forum, so forgive me if I am doing this all wrong.

2. Lopinslow

Lopinslow Senior Member

the answers you have above don't make any sense.

if my horse invades my space, or gets pushy.. I back them up quickly.

Dream27 likes this.
  3. slc

slc Senior Member

You probably don't have to create a poll with choices of 'training tips' and 'training advice.' But the first time you use the forum, it's kind of hard to see that there is any way to NOT create a poll, lol.

How do you get your horse to stay out of your personal space? Well, that's very discipline specific(though most Western and NH folks will simply say they're doing it the only way anyone should do anything with a horse, and everyone else is wrong, lol).

And you can see literally a bazillion free videos on youtube of people handling and training horses that way, showing how they start horses, and all that.

In Western riding and Natural Horsemanship, that's a huge focus of training, to get the horse back and away from the person. "Teaching Personal Space" is a huge, huge part of Western and NH. There's a lot of use of round-pens and teaching the horse to move back away from the handler. There's lots of backing up and going out, away from the person.

In sport horses and dressage and other disciplines, they way they have been traditionally done, the handling is different, the training is different, and the goal looks different.