Question

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by HorsesPonies44, Dec 16, 2017.

1. HorsesPonies44

HorsesPonies44 Registered

Hi! I'm new here and I've had A LOT of experience with horses. I'm going to buy a 2 year old filly soon but she's a kiger mountain mustang Quarter horse mix. I've heard mustangs can be difficult to train. Is this true?

2. palogal

palogal Senior Member

All breeds have their "thing". Mustangs tend to be a little more stubborn. If he's a cross (mix is a term for a dog, not a horse btw) with a QH out of a domesticated mare and has been handled appropriately, I wouldn't think he'd be any different than any other 2 year old.

GotaDunQH, ginster and HorsesPonies44 like this.
  3. manesntails

manesntails Senior Member

Horses are horses. Doesn't matter what breed they are, some train easy, some are more challenging. The fact the horse is part Mustang has little to do with anything.

4. GotaDunQH

GotaDunQH Senior Member

Agree with this....don't treat this youngster ANY different than any other horse.

5. bellalou

bellalou Senior Member

Hon, no offense but you're 13. It's simply not possible to have "A LOT" of experience with anything at that age. I don't mean that as a put-down - just a fact. Even if you've been riding since you were 2, you can't even think about doing any training until you're at least in your tweens and riding is a whole different ball game from training.

Horse is a horse. Make sure you have experienced people working with you. Don't be so confident in your own ability that you can't ask questions or admit you need help. I'm 56, been riding since I was 8. I still need help and I'm not too proud to ask for it.

6. GotaDunQH

GotaDunQH Senior Member