Mouthy Horses

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by Mcdreamer, Oct 28, 2018.

1. Mcdreamer

Mcdreamer Senior Member

Let's talk about this.
    Mr. Henry is about 6/7 years old and he has always been a mouthy and just overall odd little horse. I literally described him to clients as autistic. He has little to no social skills in the herd and is very easily over stimulated and overwhelmed. He absolutely does not respond well to harsher handling or domination games. He's not very confident in himself either so if he feels like he's doing something that is wrong or makes you unhappy, he shuts down or gets aggressive.
    I've been working with him now for a little over 2 years and my style with him that really seems to work is keeping things light and fun and playful. I do my best to not set him up for failure and to build his confidence. I think he was either an orphan baby or was started way too young and cowboyed/fried his mind. But whatever happened to him or what his story is, he loves to do the right thing.
    When he was in the program I was managing he was constantly biting clients. The problem being he's not a big fan of pets or face rubs. In fact, he hates it, and clients would never respect that boundary so if he couldn't physically move away from them he would often bite them. Which I think is relatively fair. Horses have certain boundaries and if you can't respect them then you're asking to get bit or kicked. Clients would take a hold of his lead rope and immediately he would start biting the lead rope. I would take the lead rope back and he would immediately stop. This is essentially how I became Henry's mom when I left the program he came with me.