Monthly Horse Costs?

Discussion in 'Horse Chat' started by A. Rose, May 15, 2018.

1. A. Rose

A. Rose Registered

I am a beginner and I am putting together all of the horse costs I would pay a month.

One question I have is how much does it cost per month to keep a horse?

Please note that I wouldn't be boarding my horse and I would be keeping my horse in my front pasture.

Off topic question, but if I were to get a horse right now, should I get a 10 year old gelding named Red that is an easy keeper?

Thank you :)

2. bobo and horses

bobo and horses Senior Member

If you are not boarding, I’d worry more about feed, hay, turn out, vet bills, cost of tack, farrier, transportation, shelter and a myriad of other costs that horse ownership entails.

I think people has offered you good advice - lease or take lessons on an experienced lesson horse.

Friesiangirl and mooselady like this.
  3. ChestersMomma

ChestersMomma Senior Moderator Staff Member

Startup cost would include fencing and gates, stall/shelter construction, tack storage, and space for manure. You will have to purchase secure bins to keep feed in, water buckets, water troughs, feed pans, muck rakes, stall mats, and fly predators. Depending on what you already have... each horse needs their own halters (2 at least) with leads, tack, and grooming supplies. You need to have enough pastures that you can rotate the horses so one does not get too worn down. Ideally, you would also have a dry lot in case one needs to be off grass.

Monthly costs would include hay, grain/feed, water, manure removal (if you do not have means to take care of it or spread it yourself), insurance, supplements if needed, farrier work. These costs are all very dependent on where you are located. Hay, for example, is much more costly in certain parts of the US than others.

Some costs that come around every couple months would be vet bills, wormer as needed, chiro as needed.