JR - From hippo to barrel horse

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by Circle C, Oct 13, 2016.

1. Circle C

Circle C Senior Member

As some of you may know, I sold my mare and bought a new horse. For those of you that would like to follow, here it goes...

"J.R." - 2006 AQHA gelding.

I got him in mid Sept after I got back from vacation. He was broke and used as a trail horse, but only ridden 3-4 times in the past year. He was hippo fat, buddy sour and spooky, but decently broke.

This photo was taken in August before I brought him home:
    jr1.jpg

I started riding him 4-6 days a week. We started with some trail riding, loping circles and some basic arena work (side passing, bending, counter bending, roll backs, pivots, etc.).

This photo was taken around mid Sept:
    jr2.jpg

I worked up to riding him 6 days a week and workouts got longer. He was starting to turn into a broke horse and was riding nice. These photos were taken around the end of Sept (don't mind my comfy riding pants lol) :
    jr3.png
    jr5.jpg

Around this time, I started to work him on the barrel pattern. B/c he was so broke, he took to the pattern very easily and very well. This comparison photo was taken around Oct 1st:
    jr4.jpg

I exhibitioned him last weekend and he did really well. He is going to his 1st show this coming Sat, so I will update at that time.

2. VermilionStrife

VermilionStrife Senior Member

He looks much more fit!!! :) Nice job.

Circle C likes this.
  3. SparkleDust

SparkleDust Senior Member

I will have to keep my eye on this thread ;) he is looking nice! What are your goals sith him/what division do you think he'll get to?

He's very handsome. He looks sweet. :)

4. Circle C

Circle C Senior Member