How to prep for a hunter pace?

Discussion in 'Equestrian Events, Shows, Competitions' started by mmonte24, Oct 16, 2018.

1. mmonte24

mmonte24 Registered

Hi! I’m interested in doing my first hunter pace this year with my barn, but I have never done anything like it before. I’ve ridden trail rides in rough terrain w/ a friend but that’s about it.
    What can I do in the ring (schooling) to prep/train for it? I know it’s supposed to be low key, but I don’t want to go in without practice.

2. Baboo

Baboo Senior Member

Any hunter pace I have gone to has been essentially a "trail ride" with jumps that you can take or ride around. Our hunt club usually has two 'competitions' - one is for the quickest time overall, and the other is for closest to a time that organizers took to complete the course (with variable speed etc.), more like a ride at "fun" pace. May be different in your area. Here it is very relaxed and lots of fun. Often BBQ afterwards, casual riding attire OK (boots/helmets required), tack check prior to leaving (girths done up etc.). The organizers always hang around until everyone is loaded and on their way before they leave so nobody is left with a horse that won't load at the end of the day.