How did this happen?

Discussion in 'Horse Health' started by lennypep, Dec 5, 2009.

1. lennypep

lennypep Registered

So this is my first time posting on this sight.
    On Thursday I took my rescued Arabian mare to the vet to get her teeth floated and to get coggins. She has come a long way since I got her, but she is still very nervous around new people, and this was a new vet that many people recomended. I talked to him about her problems, and that she hates new people messing with her mouth at all, so he messed with her for a few minutes, she freaked out, so he sedated her, and she still was not happy about him in her mouth so he told me that they would probably have to put her completely under to float her teeth, it would take longer but I knew she REALLY needed it done so I told them to go ahead, and then left for about 45 minutes, because it would take a while for her to be ready.
    We went and got coffee and just hung out, and when we came back the vet was waiting outside for me with a VERY upset look on his face. We got out and he told me that when she was waking up and getting ready to stand, she had broken her leg her leg and then the main vet had to make the desicion to put her to sleep. :( I was in shock from here on out so I dont really remember all that was said, but he did let me go in and see her, which wasnt a pretty sight at all, but I would have been so mad at myself if I hadn't, there was a ton of blood, which I hadnt been expecting. He showed me the break, which was on her left hind leg, right above the hock, he told me that the bone shattered when it broke and that there was nothing they could have done, my mind didnt comprehend much though, because it was the most unexpected thing that could have happened, the vet was very upset, he was trying not to cry when he talked to me about it. He told me that in the 20 years of working as a vet this had only happened two other times.