Horse struggles with canter?

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by benthetb, May 30, 2018.

1. benthetb

benthetb Registered

Hey guys, so I recently purchased a 15 year old off the track gelding who I had been leasing for about 6 months, and who had really just been sitting in the paddock for the year or so before that. He hasn't had a whole lot of education in the 4 years he's been off the track. For the past approx 5 months I have been working on strengthening exercises in walk and trot (cavalletti, small jumps, hill work, backing up inclines, ect) and attempting to do some canter work, but this horse is so unbalanced at the canter that he can only go, very choppily, down the long side of the arena. He also tries to run into the canter, and even when I bring him back to a controlled trot and queue again on the next straight he still runs the last couple trot strides. When I try to canter him around the short side of the arena he honestly feels like he's going to slip over, even with my rein and inside leg trying to support him. Does anyone have any ideas on how we can improve his canter? (also just in case it makes a difference, I ride him bitless because he does not like the bit at all, never did even as a racehorse apparently so it's not an issue with teeth) I've tried taking him out of the arena to canter but he gets super hot and strong... Unfortunately too there are no trainers in my pretty small coastal town, so that isn't even an option! :no:
    I would really appreciate any tips, thanks!

2. Alsosusieq2

Alsosusieq2 Senior Member

I'd suggest showing a few things.