Horse Dives Away When Loping Simple Circle?

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by Sierra Frantz, Jan 26, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sierra Frantz

Sierra Frantz Registered

So the mare I ride does this thing while we're loping where she will dive to a wall suddenly and throw me off in the process, and has done it so much to the point where im now scared to get on her. its only going clockwise, as counterclockwise hasn't given me much issue yet. My fear is bad enough that it affects my ability of riding every horse I get on. She doesn't do this to anyone else.. maybe its because I'm a beginner speed competitor and I dont know what im doing but i really do need help please!

2. Lopinslow

Lopinslow Senior Member

If you are a beginner, stop riding speed events until you know more.

Your mare has your number, dont let her get away with it. Get some lessons to help you learn how to correct this

3. ginster

ginster Senior Member

If she doesn't do this with anyone else riding her it is either because the way you're riding is bothering her/causing her pain OR because she realized she can get you unseated with this.
    Are you riding with a trainer or alone?

NBChoice likes this.
  4. Sierra Frantz

Sierra Frantz Registered

Ive ridden on and off my entire life, and recently took it up as a regular sport two years ago. My trainer has cleared me to begin speed, which is a goal of mine Ive had for years. I asked my trainer about it and she said the girl who used to ride her had the same problem, but the girl is a close friend of mine and shes as tough as anything, so it didnt surprise me she overcame it because shes been on horses her entire life. The other girl who rides her has no issue with that at all either, just little huckle bucks here and there... Im not sure what I should do about myself or the horse

5. manesntails

manesntails Senior Member