Help with trainer problems

Discussion in 'Horse Chat' started by sarah_eq_1990, Feb 22, 2018.

1. sarah_eq_1990

sarah_eq_1990 Registered

Hi everyone, I ride hunter/jumper and have been at the same barn for the past two years. Before that I lived in a different state but rode inconsistently for about 10 years. I have a solid w/t/c foundation and currently jump smaller jumps and short courses as well as ride some green horses for experience. I can ride through a buck or spook or a horse that needs some work. I'm nothing fancy nor an expert but I also wouldn't say total beginner. I recently decided it is time for me to get my own horse, as I patiently waited till I was through college and the worst two years of graduate school and can now financially afford the monthly upkeep!. When I told me trainer she was initially very excited. Until she asked my budget. I want to stay at or under $4000. I do not need or want a fancy horse. Something that can take me to schooling shows and possibly local open shows and have fun with and that is it! Let's face it, graduate students and full time scientists don't have time for crazy showing schedule and I accept that! However, my trainer does not think that my budget will get me anything suitable and now says I am not ready for a horse. Is my budget that bad for a first horse? I don't need a polished warmblood or Irish sport horse..... I did recently find out that another lady at the barn who just got her first horse (much more in-experienced then me because she just recently started riding) paid 9000 for a TBxdraft cross from a field. She is a super sweet mare, but does not have a lot of miles. Doesn't have a good work ethic, can't bend yet or collect at all, cannot pick up the correct lead or canter yet. Basically just needs some work. That BLEW my mind. I have rode this horse many times and I would have NEVER paid that much. I guess my issue is, do you guys think I could find a decent horse for me, and do you think they are now