Fergie - Journeying on to 2nd

Discussion in 'Horse Chat' started by mooselady, Feb 25, 2018.

1. mooselady

mooselady Senior Member

Somehow it feels like time to move on, the continuing journey maybe?

For anyone who doesn't know the start of our story is here Fergie - The journey - From Pasture Puff to Dressage Diva, and we have come a long way from there!

I have got braver and so has she, though we still have our moments....but rather than the start point of wondering if I would keep her, if she was too much for me, we are now starting the journey to ride at 2nd level.....not sure how long a journey this one will be.

She has already taught me so much, and as an old bird it is still faintly embarrassing to admit that there is so much that I didn't know, so much I am still learning....BUT the thing is, neither Fergie or I are young, but we are both learning...

Oh yes, and our goals for this year...well we are entering the All Breeds Show in June at the barn...doing as many of the Western classes as we can, which means we will have to practice riding one handed! Also at that show they have a ground poles class that can be ridden English or Western, so we are going to do that. As part of my own development I have signed up for a couple of vaulting lessons later in the year....not that I want to vault, but I think it will be a great confidence booster going forward.

Our start point, well we will take yesterdays group lesson, three western dressage riders, and one English on her baby Warmblood, who kept being overtaken by us....