Fear of riding.

Discussion in 'Horse Training' started by Marleesgottagun, Apr 21, 2018.

1. Marleesgottagun

Marleesgottagun Registered

Hey everyone! It' been so long since I last posted.

I've got quite a dilemma right now.
    My sister has a 16.2 throughbred mix that we've been sharing and riding as I'm a full time college student right now and can't afford my own horse.

Hes a super big silly goof of a horse. I love him but hes' been very unpredictable in the past with us. (bucking, bolting, etc.)

My sister who owns him is 12 years old and an amazing rider. She has two lessons a week with him and has the time to ride him every day and spend lots of time with him on the ground which I don't have time for. Because of this she's grown an amazing bond with him and has started to figure him out.

I feel like despite my best efforts I still have a rather poor bond with him yet I've been able to ride him okay through all his moments so far, until recently.

I went on vacation for about a week and came back super excited to ride. I spent a long time brushing, tacking, and spending time with our horse on the ground before getting on and about two minutes into the ride the horse flopped and rolled on me, hurting my leg quite badly in the process.

To begin with I'm quite a nervous rider, I'm much better with smaller breeds but I've been able to control our horse fine yet this was super unpredictable to me and left me in tears and terrified.

I took about a month off from riding due to fear, recently picked up a beautiful western saddle, and decided to focus more on building my confidence and working on natural horsemanship like my sister's been doing instead of stressing like I've found myself doing before.