Double Noseband - Anyone Used One??

Discussion in 'Tack & Equipment' started by Baboo, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Baboo

Baboo Senior Member

Double Noseband.jpg Wondering if anyone has actual experience using of these nosebands. I have heard they are very good for especially 'strong' horses (I have lots of experience with that particular 'breed' :rolleyes:), and thinking this may be something worth a try. Would be interested in your experiences if you have tried it! I am usually a bit wary of these "new-fangled" things, but have found that sometimes they do actually work.
    Not something I would use everyday, but more for specific circumstances, when the horse in question is typically more difficult to control. She is a wonderful mare, but really big, and very strong, especially over fences cross-country when she gets 'excited.'

2. mooselady

mooselady Senior Member

Not sure why that is any more advantage than a properly adjusted flash, or even drop noseband. Without knowing how it is meant to work I would say someone is yet again reinventing the wheel, because they know horse people love new gadgets!

(Apart from the enlightened among us, who now buy lessons rather than gadgets)

Nu5ha likes this.
  3. Baboo

Baboo Senior Member

I have seen a similar 'flash' attachment that was described as being more comfortable (ergonomic) for the horse - see attached pic. MT flash attachment.jpg
    Also the assertion that the double noseband (in the first post) is more like a drop noseband than a flash, which I have found several horses in my past have preferred (the drop I mean). I am wondering if the combo of the cavesson and drop together is somehow a bit different than a regular flash. Maybe it's the direction that the strap takes - straighter from the nose rather than the angle?