Arizona people (hay prices)

Discussion in 'Horse Health' started by Horseemommy, Mar 13, 2011.

1. Horseemommy

Horseemommy Full Member

I am in Arizona and have a question to the other Arizona people. I am very new to being a horse owner (**eekk** :) so I'm wondering about where people buy their alfalfa and/or grass hay. My new mare is currently getting just alfalfa and alfalfa pellets, but I was hoping to add some grass hay to the mix. I do know that grass is more expensive. I am in the East Valley, my mare is currently in Apache Junction.

2. polar

polar Full Member

I buy timothy and bermuda from Aden's Hay Oasis on Williamsfield. It's 14.50 for the timothy and I think 10 something for the bermuda there. Usually they carry pretty good stuff. Higley Feed is good too and sometimes I'll hit up San Tan feed but that's pretty far south. I thought I'd seen a feed store up off Apache too, but I don't go up there as much so I haven't been to any of those.

3. Horseemommy

Horseemommy Full Member

My mare is getting just alfalfa and alfalfa pellets. She is young (3 in April) so she is growing, but is obviously not in very strenous work. I would like to add grass hay to the mix, since it is actually cheaper right now (not by much). Can you tell me about bremuda hay?

4. HnA Tack

HnA Tack Senior Member

I used to get the nicest alfalfa/bermuda mix from Higley Feeds but that was a few yrs ago. Is the feed store in AJ still open - thinking it was on Ironwood? They usually had good bermuda. If you need definites, PM me & I can chk w/my friend who lives in Gold Canyon where the best place is these days.

5. polar

polar Full Member