Anyone really good with, IT, wifi, etc?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Lopinslow, Feb 9, 2018.

1. Lopinslow

Lopinslow Senior Member

looking at a way to make cameras work better in the barn, and i'm NOT good with IT stuff.

this was recommended to me
    https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-CPE2...ie=UTF8&qid=1518187064&sr=8-1&keywords=cpe210

for Wifi, we use a Verizon Jetpack in the house. the House is approximately 350 feet from the barn (metal pole barn), with a few trees, Bushes in between

I have 2 cameras in the barn now, and had to buy antenna extensions to put on the roof so the Camera system monitor can pick them up in the house (have to have the monitor near that side of the house and ideally by a window)

I bought 2 more of the cameras so I can put 4 up in the barn, but the company does not seem to carry the antenna extenders any longer, and Ideally I would like to get away from using them, as the lines are short and I need the cameras up higher than I want so they will reach.

what would be the best way to do this?
    would a range extender send the camera signals better to the house., or does that Monitor need to be in the barn?
    Move the jetpack to the barn, or get a second one?

would really like to get all 4 cameras in the barn working, and be able to watch them on a monitor in the house (I do have 2 monitors for the system)

suggestions?

2. rhinebeck

rhinebeck Senior Member

If you can get the 4 cameras working on one “server” then send that signal to the house it’s your best bet.

Something like this centralized in the barn in an area that can send signal out:
    (SUPPORTS IP and 4 HD COAX TECHNOLOGIES) 32 Camera COMBO 1080p High Definition DVR/NVR with Internet & Cell Phone Viewing (Supports ALL CCTV, HD-CCTV, TVI, AHD and IP Cameras)

All the cameras go to that device first then the output is to your place of viewing - in the home etc. this means you can sync everything to one device that device send the feed and etc etc