About Mares?

Discussion in 'Horse Rescue / Adoption' started by A. Rose, May 11, 2018.

1. A. Rose

A. Rose Registered

As I am a beginner who has only rode a horse a few times (please note that I will ve riding more horses soon!), I am going to be getting a horse sometime next year! Anyways, I have found a horse that is a 7 year old mare that is 14.3 hands. If I could take some tips on mares and maybe even some facts about them, that would be great! Thank you :)

Attached Files:

Alsosusieq2 likes this.
  2. Alsosusieq2

Alsosusieq2 Senior Member

Sock away tons of lessons and soak up as much as you can from here, your barn and reading as well as checking out horsemanship on line. A good source is Warwick Schiller on Utube as he's free, fabulous and easy to understand.

There's nothing about mares I can think of you need to know in relation to riding. They're actually my choice if I've my selection in my personal horse. Sometimes their season can be difficult, but majorly problematic is rare in my opinion. She's a great looking mare, post conformation shots when you can - there's a post at the top of the board "critique" that tells the best way. It'd be smart to have a fresh set of eyes look at her for any problems you might not see.

bsaz, GONE ROPING and A. Rose like this.
  3. mooselady

mooselady Senior Member

Lol, mares come in all varieties, from Tomboys to Divas, just like girls do. Never judge a horse by it’s sex, color or breed, because they haven’t read the books, they don’t know the stereotype they should be aspiring to!

4. manesntails

manesntails Senior Member

First, don't buy a 7year old. Your first horse, after a year of at least once a week lessons, needs to be well broke and a teenaged horse. The less experience with horses that the person has, the MORE experience with PEOPLE the horse needs.