A crisis of non-faith

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by bellalou, Mar 15, 2019.

1. bellalou

bellalou Senior Member

You hear about religious people having a crisis of faith when they begin to doubt the existence of God. So I guess for a long-time atheist like myself, it must be a crisis of non-faith when I begin to doubt the non-existence.

Yeah, I'm going there. And no one is more surprised than me.

I was strongly on the fence even as a kid. We were a moderately religious family, went to church regularly (Episcopal), did Sunday school, said bedtime and mealtime prayers. But I was always skeptical and by the time I was a teenager, I was firmly in the agnostic camp. By my mid-20s I was an avowed atheist and that has never wavered. Until now.

Like most of the atheists I know, I studied religion a lot. I went to various houses of worship with friends or alone, to experience what they had to offer. I took classes. I read. I wanted to deeply explore what it was that people were finding. Other than a brief flirtation with nature-based spirituality, which appealed to my sense that true peace and tranquility come from nature, none of it resonated with me. I could see the beauty and comfort of ritual and community, but the actual belief eluded me.

And then I reconnected with the boy I loved as a teenager, the boy I'd always loved, the one who I'd held in my heart for 40 years. And I have to say that I am seeing and feeling the hand of God in all of it.

It's not that I believe that some white-haired guy in a robe is looking down benevolently on me and saying, "bellalou, I'm going to specifically direct the events of your life." But it does feel like the entire universe has moved in profound ways since the day we reconnected. Ways that feel entirely out of my control but also feel like a path is being deliberately spread before me.